founder
Posted by Johnnie Lockett Thomas (+393) 15 years ago
Glory! Glory!

A winery for Miles City. That's my idea of home improvement

Johnnie Lou.
founder
Posted by Chad (+1761) 15 years ago
Johnnie Lou,

I think it's a fine idea. You need to distinguish between a place that makes wine and the local bars though. They're already "whineries"!

Question, what would you propose to ferment that's locally grown? I don't much care for dandelion wine. Plum wine is mediocre, never tried chokecherry, rhubarb wine is ghastly, potato wine (that would be like vodka), sugar beet wine??? Maybe that's it, sugar beet wine. Somehow I'm not sure the Romans would approve.

Truth be told, the worlds largest winery, Gallo, ships most of their grapes in from over 100 miles away from the winery. They have vineyards, but not near the winery.

[This message has been edited by Chad (edited 1/11/2005).]
founder
Chad,

I haven't a clue about grapes and the process of winemaking, but I am an expert at drinking it. It started out as a medical thing. When we lived in Italy we couldn't drink the water, you know. Unlike the wine snob in Sideways, I was forced to develope a nose and a palate. That was an great asset when we lived in D.C.

According to the story in tonight's paper though, the Thadens planted their first grapes in Miles City in 1994 and "historically have concocted their...wines from wild grapes, chokecherries, raspberries, blackberries and more recently from grapes purchased in Washington state."

I am simply interested in doing my civic duty by being a good customer.

Johnnie Lou
founder
Posted by Chad (+1761) 15 years ago
Welcome back to the Thadens!

I saw the article when I got home and opened the Star, only then did I see the root of your web post. I'll look forward to trying some of the local vintage, Maribot, if Bob & Marilyn will set a bottle aside for me.