SHOOK FAMILY
Posted by Tina Meckle (+15) 11 years ago
I AM DOING SOME GENEALOGY ON THE SHOOK FAMILY FROM THE MILES AREA.
WHAT I KNOW IS THAT EDWARD AND MARY SHOOK WENT TO MONTANA AROUND 1916,MARY WAS A TEACHER. EDWARD DIED 1/18/1926,LEAVING HIS WIFE MARY AND CHILDREN, I KNOW MARY WAS ON THE 1930 CENSUS AS LIVING WITH HER SON HERMAN F.SHOOK AND HIS WIFE BERTHA. NOW I BELIEVE HERMAN F. SHOOK AND BERTHA HAD HERMAN J.SHOOK,TWINS GLADYS AND GLEN WHO WERE BORN ABOUT 1924.I BELIEVE GLEN MAY HAVE MARRIED A LADY NAMED LAUREL. THE CENSUS STATED THAT HERMAN F.SHOOK WAS A FARMER, CAN ANYONE HELP ME FIND ANYTHING OUT ABOUT THIS FAMILY? HELP IS APPRECIATED.
supporter
Posted by Julie (+411) 11 years ago
Hi Tina,

I went to school with Lorna and Valerie Shook (children of Glen and Laurel). Lorna and I graduated in 1975 and I believe Val graduated in 1973. I saw Val in Billings during the summer of 2001. At that time she was an RN on the oncology ward at St. Vincent Hospital. Hope this helps.
Posted by Kacey (+3151) 11 years ago
Tina,
I called Val and her mom, Laurel, will contact you.
Posted by Cindy Stalcup (+589) 11 years ago
Tina,
Did you need census info going back? Here is a quick brief, I have more detail from census if you don't have it.

1920 MT Custer Miles Ward
Shook Edward 60 North Carolina born Railroad Oiler owned house on North Custer.
Mary wife 59 NC born
Robert son 32 worked for Railroad
Finley H son 27 no occupation listed

1910 Oklahoma- Mayes Co- Rider twp
Shook Edward R 49 married 28 yrs born NC, parents born NC farmer rented.
Mary B or R 48 has 5 children alive of 11 born, born NC, parents born NC.
Herman F. 17 farmer
Robert B 23 engineer
William H 21 farmer

1900 North Carolina Buncombe County- Leicester
Shook Edward R 39
Mary R 38
Cola 17
Rebecca E 15
Robert B 13
Doctor H. W. 10
Findley M 7

1880 North Carolina Buncombe County- Leicester
Shook E R 19 farm labor
in household of Robeson family

1870 North Carolina Haywood County- Beaverdam