supporter
Posted by Gunnar Emilsson (+13074) 2 years ago
Yes, it is approaching soon.

This year I am going to try to deep fry a turkey. I have never done it before, never even have had it. I never wanted to deal with the mess. But, this year, my wife bought one of those newfangled electric fryers from QVC:

Anyone got any tips? To brine, or not to brine? It came with one of those injector thingies - injector recipes?
+3
founder
supporter
sponsor
Posted by Hal Neumann (+9226) 2 years ago
Save the fryer for fries. Brine it first and spatchcock that bird.
+5
Posted by Oddjob (+181) 2 years ago
Real men cook with turkey fryers on their decks, inviting the local fire department to share in the repast.
+4
founder
Posted by David Schott (+13637) 2 years ago
Gunnar, did Karen get a new "appliance garage" to store that thing in the other 364 days of the year?
+3
supporter
Ha, no, we have a big house and a whole basement pantry area devoted to storing seldom used appliances. Remember, you are talking to a home brewer, who has vast quantities of brewing equipment sitting around.

Real men own a lot of toys.
+1
supporter
Posted by cubby (+2423) 2 years ago
Just from the looks of it that fryer doesn't look big enough to cook a turkey?
+3
supporter
According to the instructions, it can fry turkeys up to 22 lbs. I have a 17 lb. one from the local Hutterite colony.
+1
founder
Take a picture of that beast next to a common object so we have a sense of scale.
+3
Posted by Bob Netherton III (+2377) 2 years ago
Gunnar. I bet Butterball has a website with tips and recipes.
+1
founder
This guy is a little nutty. He's cooking a 7-pound (?) turkey. I didn't even know turkeys came that small.

This guy is cooking a 20-pounder:

+3
supporter
I ended up doing this apple and tea brine:

http://www.food.com/recip...rkey-95296