DON'T BE A TAX SCAM VICTIM!
supporter
Posted by Wendy Wilson (+6165) 6 years ago
There is a telephone scam making the rounds in which the caller says he's from the US Treasury Dept and that you must contact him to prevent being charged with a felony offense.

Your caller ID may say 909-274-8534 or 909-271-8534. Of course, as the scam continues they may use addition numbers.

He is simply trying to get you Social Security Number. The calls are indisciminate; I received one myself and I'm an enrolled agent.

DO NOT FALL FOR THIS !!! If you have questions call your local tax expert or the IRS.
+2
founder
Posted by David Schott (+17052) 6 years ago
"...as the scam continues they may use addition numbers."

If things get really bad they may even resort to using subtraction numbers. God help us all if it comes to that.
+1
Posted by Oddjob (+194) 6 years ago
It was twice a day here for a while, mixed in with the other half-dozen or so "out of area" and "toll-free number" calls. I talked to a friend who's a cop and was told everybody in the area has been getting the tax scam call since last Fall. He said the dispatch phone has been ringing off the hook and driving everybody nuts. The last one I got a couple of weeks ago was for one of my sons who hasn't lived here in years, so I hope they gave up on me.

I haven't answered my land line for months and am now getting marketers on my cell. Sure am glad I signed up for the "do not call" registry. I have a sneaking suspicion the Department of Consumer Protection is selling the lists to scammers......
supporter
Oops. David, my mind is faster than my fingers. I meant additional.
supporter
Well, Oddjob, I don't think the Do Not Call List deters scammers. But unwelcome calls sure are annoying. I don't answer any call where I don't recognize the number. I figure that if it's important they will leave a message. The funny thing is that this tax scammer did leave a message!
Posted by Oddjob (+194) 6 years ago