Separation of church and state
founder
supporter
Posted by Tucker Bolton (+3677) 8 years ago
A close family member is involved in the legal system. She is in the position by her own hand and is quick to admit that she has put herself in the position that she is in.

Briefly, time has been served and she is now on probation, in Miles City.

As part of her probation she is ordered to attend counselling. Medicaid is charged for these sessions. Fine, with the exception that two of her "counselors" in the group (mandatory attendance) have have told her that "she will never make it because she doesn't believe in god." For the record what they are saying in essence is that she doesn't believe in their god.

For the time being, I will not mention them by name.

I was a resident of MC for fifteen year and have many fond memories and close friends that I still hold near to my heart. None of them, however are small minded, bigoted, fundamentalists. Oh, I forgot to mention that what they are doing is against the law. It makes no difference if it is freedom of religion or freedom "from" religion. Both are protected by the constitution from the time of Thomas Jefferson to the current supreme court.

This is simply a rant. I know it will get back to those who are participating in this travesty. The action (through legal means) will come later. ttfn, Tucker
supporter
Posted by Kelly (+2706) 8 years ago
As a firm believer in Church/State separation, I say go get 'em tiger.
supporter
Posted by Jeri Dalbec (+3244) 8 years ago
http://www.youtube.com/wa...DP4qrA8hvg

Tucker...I think we have reached a time where there are those that may not have been alive when John F. Kennedy made that speech. I just posted it yesterday as a reminder to those who "thumping" a little too much. Although, he may have had a different purpose it fits many circumstances.

Good luck to your family member...this too shall pass:-) And...Karma is interesting!!
supporter
Posted by Jeri Dalbec (+3244) 8 years ago