Random Thoughts on a Lazy Sunday Afternoon
Posted by Oddjob (+194) 8 years ago
One common theme I have seen repeated on this forum is an inordinate amount of self-righteous hand-wringing over poor people, the unemployed or the homeless. With that being said, it begs the question: why are so many of these same people so rabidly opposed to businesses locating in Montana? These would include the devil corporations like oil companies, mining companies , timber, railroads and utilities, etc ., which provide abundant high-paying jobs elsewhere? Why do they insist on everybody reelecting the same slate of politicians who promote nothing but continued misery for the poor, homeless and unemployed who want to work? It appears to me there is a disconnect here, if you truly care for the downtrodden.

45 years ago when I was a typical Communist-sympathizing UM student, it was all about holding out for the "good, clean or green" industries that were all going to flock to Montana for the "pristine Quality of Lifec" so profusely heralded by all the college professors. Well, 40 years have passed and Montana is further in the dumper with the demise of Anaconda Copper, Montana Power, Asarco and others, and the pledge by Mr. Peabody years ago, that his coal company will never do business in Montana with the current corporate tax structure and anti-business environment, so proudly enshrined by the 1976 Constitution overhaul.

45 years have passed and the "clean or green" industries have all opted for the business and tax-friendly places like Texas or Florida. Instead, Montana got haters like Ted Turner, the certified moron, Glenn Close and other Hollywood nimrods and sold the "Tourist Meccac" bill of goods.

I hate to be the bearer of more bad news, but any new "clean or green" industries (or tourists) are not going to come to a place that is below zero six months out of the year and on fire for the rest, with one of the worst tax and regulatory structures, outside of California.