supporter
Posted by Don Birkholz (+1139) 7 years ago
I remember the first day of gym class, Bob would look around the class gathered around the locker room and say "The circus has left town and all the clowns have left with the circus".

I don't know why he seemed to look at me so long.

I also remember racing to the locker room after a class let out, racing to get my clothes off, racing to the gym floor to shoot the basketball, then, remembering I had forgot to put my gym shorts on over my underwear, racing back to the locker room, and remembering Bob got a chuckle at that, which I did not think was so funny.
supporter
Posted by Dan Mowry (+1430) 7 years ago
He used to call me "Dan'l" with a big voice - like on Cheers when Norm walked through the door.

Felt pretty special.

He was really good to us kids even though we were... well... High Schoolers, ha ha.
Posted by Matt - Schmitz (+171) 7 years ago
For a few years after I graduated, there was always an alumni basketball tourney at the gym, between Christmas and New Years. Years 76-77 versus 72-73, set up like that. Usually about a dozen or so teams, and it was always a blast. Bragging rights ya know. Mr Nees was the ref during one of those games I was playin in, and it got late in the game. We were down by about 6 points or so, and we decided that we needed to start fouling the other team, and hope they would miss their free throws so we could get back in the game. Evidently we were running late, and Mr Nees decided that there would be no more free throws. Just get the game over. I very politely suggested to him that if we weren't allowed the chance to get back in the game, he should just call it over before somebody got hurt. He looked at me and said "Well son of a bitch. I never thought of that. You deserve a chance to get back in the game. I guess we shoot free throws until the game is over" We got lucky, they missed all their free throws, and we came back to win the game. After the game, Mr Nees approached me