Lincoln School - after school
Posted by Tracy P. (+93) 11 years ago
Has anyone just sat outside Lincoln school for about 20 minutes after the kids are let out? I had the opportunity today, since I was waiting for my kid for 20 minutes to just wait in my vehicle right by Seabecks and let me tell you if I was a cop I could have pulled over about 5 teenagers who were speeding through the school zone. And it just isn't teenagers, I see some parents flying down the street as well. About two years ago my son and another boy almost got hit by a girl flying down the street in the school zone and not paying attention; she was on her cell phone you know. That area by the high school needs to be policed more. I know, only a week left of school, but seriously someone is going to get hit.
Posted by RA (+643) 11 years ago
Yes.....I've seen similar incidents myself. I would suggest that a Miles City police officer spend a week sitting at one end or the other end of the block that is in front of Lincoln School, the High School, and Washington - there are a number of violations occuring on a daily basis that would generate income for the city!

It would be a GREAT improvement if the streets around the schools were turned into one way streets!

Another improvement would be enforcement of the school bus parking zones.
supporter
Posted by Jerry Dean (+156) 11 years ago
I use to live on Pearl and I followed officers several times go past lincoln and tried to catch up with them, just to see how fast they were traveling and it was close to 30 MPH, I kept behind them even though I was speeding and they parked at the police station and casually walked to the door. "Coffee time?" Any one else notice that officers don't heed the speed limit?
supporter
Posted by Dan Mowry (+1432) 11 years ago
We lived across the street from Lincoln for almost 30 years. This has always been the way it is - it's nothing new, unfortunately.

Some quote about doing what we've always done comes to mind.