Does Miles City need lawyers?
Posted by MT Aggie (+5) 10 years ago
I live and work in Dallas right now, and with the city covered in a layer of ice, and an even thicker layer of super bowl tourists, I've been starting to want to get out. I'm a licensed attorney here in Texas. I'm just starting out and doing boring contract work to get by. The market isn't awful here, but its not good either so i wouldn't mind leaving. I grew up in miles city and my mom is always trying to get me to come back. She paints this rosey picture of a land with 3-5 lawyers and clients busting down their doors. Is that accurate? Most of my experience is in family law. I'd be willing to do about anything but I want to focus on civil stuff as my career progresses. Does anybody know what the legal market is like there? I'd call a lawyer there but here in Texas no lawyer would ever dare to encourage another to move to their community. I don't want to have that conversation so I figured I'd ask y'all first. I'm also curious about the cost of renting an office and what kind of fees local attorneys are charging.

Thanks i advance for replies :-) Also, if you have somehow deduced who I am and who my mom is please don't tell her because I don't want to get her hopes up prematurely.
Posted by Ryan (+482) 10 years ago
Well there is a shortage of family law attorney's here. Dennis Corbin, Brad Wheatcroft and Cynthia Thornton are the only ones in town that do family law. Dennis is the busiest one.
Good luck on what you decide.
founder
supporter
Posted by Amorette Allison (+11432) 10 years ago
Seriously, I think Miles City could use a new competent family law attorney. I know we have been struggling with finding a lawyer to handle an estate settlement, since the "old family retainer" is pretty elderly himself and has retired.
Posted by Kacey (+3152) 10 years ago