founder
supporter
sponsor
Posted by Hal Neumann (+9335) 14 years ago
Any home brewers out there with recipes, tips, techniques, etc to share?
supporter
Posted by Gunnar Emilsson (+13655) 14 years ago
As a homebrewer for over 15 years, the sagest piece of advice I can offer is: brew often.
founder
supporter
sponsor
Ah . . . sage advice indeed Gunnar

Just minutes ago I finished bottling a hearty, hoppy, amber ale that promises to be darned tasty.

Are you an all grain brewer? I've never made the transition to all grains - I still go the partial extract route. We prefer ales, so I've no experience with lagers, pilsners, bocks and the like either.

But in any case, brewing often is good. We're finishing off the last of the porter, stout, and red ale that we brewed up for the holidays and are just starting on the first of the 2006 brews, also a (tasty) amber ale (see below).
--Hal

- - - - - - - - - - - - -
Basic Winter Amber #2 / partial extract
(5 gallons)

Grain Bill
7lbs. Light Liquid Malt Extract
1lb. Victory Malt
1lb. Crystal Malt - 60L
1lb. Pale Belgium Malt

1lb. Dark clover honey
- - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - -

Hop Schedule
1oz. Domestic Cascade (loose) Hops / Alpha 11% - 60 minutes
1oz. Domestic Cascade (loose) Hops / Alpha 11% - 15 minutes

1oz. Domestic Perle (loose) Hops / Alpha 6.6% - dry hop in secondary fermentation/conditioning
- - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - -

11 grams Windsor Yeast
- - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - -

5oz. Priming sugar
- - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - -

Notes:

Grains - 60 minute steep at 160F
60 minute Wort boil

Racked off into secondary after 7 days primary fermentation - 7 days in secondary / conditioning

Bag hops for dry hopping in secondary

Batch primed.

Drinkable at 14 days - should be very drinkable at 30 days.
supporter
I am an all-grain brewer. I brew on the average around 25 five-gallon batches per year. I have brewed damn near every style of beer commercially available.