supporter
Posted by Wendy Wilson (+6171) 11 years ago
I though it was time I started another tax thread for the 2009 tax year. Post your questions here and I'll do my best to answer them. I specialize in individual and sole proprietor tax returns but have some knowledge of S-corps. Anything I don't know I'll do my best to point you to resources that can help. Please no anti-tax ranting or I'll quit the thread.
supporter
HAITI: If you donated to a qualified charity specifically for the Haitian relief efforts between January 11, 2010, and before March 1, 2010 you can take that donation as a deduction on your 2009 return. This is assuming that you can itemize.

Michigan return: I'm not an expert on Michigan returns. I've never done one. If you didn't sell any property there I would take the MI w-2s. Your preparer will have more questions for you.

New House: If your house purchase was after Nov. 6,2009 you may qualify for up to 6500 credit if you lived in your previous house as a main residence for 5 years of the 8 years prior to selling it. You are required to send a copy of the settlement statement for the new house with you return. Look up Form 886-H-FTHBC for a list of required documentation.
supporter
Posted by Mary1 (+152) 11 years ago
Thanks Wendy, I will get a copy of the form and see what happens.
supporter
Posted by howdy (+4950) 11 years ago
that form is for the first time buyers...is the documentation the same for the repeat buyers credit as well?
supporter
Posted by Gunnar Emilsson (+16811) 11 years ago
Wendy: After living in our home for 20 years, our mortgage has become so small, that itemizing no longer is the best option....we should just take the standard deduction.

With our mortgage at 6%, and no tax benefits available from itemizing anymore, should we just suck it up and pay off our mortgage? In this economy, I can't think of any investment that would pay 6% or better anymore.
supporter